We Are The Champions 

Here we go…… 

Yesterday was graduation day! I got my associates degree and it was a loooooooooong time coming! 

The day was full of emotions, excitement, sadness, hopefulness, gratitude, confidence, encouragement, laughter, and love! 

A woman gave a speech and the whole time I’m having to fight back tears because every word she says I related to. Don’t let fear stop you, failing again and again is better than giving up. 

Failing is better than giving up.

It’s no secret it’s taken me 5 years to get where I am. For a long time I was ashamed and embarrassed about that. I was judged and made fun of and sometimes by the people I was closest to. It took me longer than it should have to say “fuck you!” to those people. Instead of quitting when life kept knocking me down, I worked my ass off. I may not be a straight A student, I work 15% harder for a C that I’m proud of than people who do nothing and get an A. I have things fighting against me that I have no control what’s so ever and other people like me look up to me, they see my 5 year long accomplishment of “just an associates degree” as a HUGE accomplishment! 

So enough! Enough of any pity party I ever feel like having about my intelligence…….no my academence……because I am highly intelligent (thank you very much) 😉 this IS a HUGE accomplishment that I will FOREVER be proud of! I’m the first one in my entire family to have a degree behind my name. 

Speaking of family, mine has been nothing but supportive and encouraging throughout the whole journey. I was proud not only to graduate for myself yesterday but to also graduate for my parents. To show them they fought me the meaning of percervierence, dedication, and hard work. 

Not only my family but my educators (mentors)…….yes I’m going to call them out (again) soon to be Dr.Roberts and Dr.Jenkins, who are the definition of what true professors/mentors are. They’ve taught me well and inspired me in more ways than I can count and I don’t think they’ll really know just how grateful, thankful, and appreciative I am. 

I’m not sure yet where my path is taking me next (hopefully to a beach somewhere……🐢😉) but I know the possibilities are endless! Who knows I might even let my mother convince me into opening a bake shop/food truck………maybe. 

If anything I HOPE I’ve left my mark on my little USCS! Maybe I even inspired some people, maybe someone like me. 

That’s my goal, to help show people they’re more than what life and their limitations/labels/insecurities/self-doubts/peers say they are. They are whatever they want to be! 

Anything is possible if you just believe and fly! 

I’ll leave you with this YOU ARE AWESOME AND DON’T LET ANYONE TELL YOU OTHERWISE!! 

WE ARE THE CHAMPIONS! 

Ps Happy Cinco de Mayo

Xoxoxo 

Leave a Reply

