People, people who need music ;)

You can tell a lot about a person by what’s on their playlist. Their own personal music diary. Do their songs match their personality? Looking at someone could you guess what type of music they listen to?? Or is it something shocking and and unexpected? Music, a lot like clothes, helps people express themselves in ways that words cannot. If you ask someone to pick 5 songs that changed their life it can say a lot about the life they’ve had.

So me being the curious creature I am, asked the people in my life to pick their 5 life changing songs.

First up a recent friend I’ve made this semester, this girl is very sweet, shy, smart, let’s call her T……T’s 5 songs were

!.Invisible by Hunter Hayes

2. Jar of Hearts by Christina Perri

3. If You Had Told Me To by Hunter Hayes

4. My Immortal by Evanescence

5. Because of You by Kelly Clarkson

Knowing T I would/would not have guessed these 5 songs. After she finished listing these songs I felt this need to give her a hug, because these aren’t bright and cheery songs, but instead sad songs about going through rough times. However, now knowing this I feel like I know T even better and can relate to her.

Another person I chose to ask this question was my Marine Biology professor, who I’ve bonded with this semester. He is not your typical professor……he’s kind of a “hot mess” and scatter brained, a lot like me, which is why I think I feel a bond with him. He’s like the older (wiser……..shhhhhhh don’t tell him I said that) male version of me, kind of. His song selections were far different from T.

1. I’ll Take Care of You by The Dixie Chicks (his wedding song…….awwwww)

2. What a Difference a Day Makes by Dinah Washington

3. Must I Paint You a Picture by Billy Bragg (who I’m now hooked on)

4. Masters of War by Bob Dylan

5. Tainted Love by Soft Cell

See what I mean about scatter brained? Song choices are all over the place πŸ˜‰ just saying. I wouldn’t have guessed these songs! Very different genres and very different messages, but after listening to each song, like T’s songs you can understand…….sort of, why he would pick the songs that he did. And also like T, I now have a better understanding of who he is.

Now that I’ve put other people’s “playlist diaries” out into the blog world I figure I should do the same.

1.Fix You by Coldplay

2.Always by Bon Jovi

3.Don’t Stop Believing by Journey (my personal theme song)

4.I Wish For You by Jessica Andrews (the lyrics were painted on my walls when I was little) πŸ™‚

5.Raise Your Glass by Pink (come on who doesn’t love that song? I mean seriously, I wanna know)

Each song is like a chapter in my life, each one has meaning, and a story behind it. It helps other people know who I am.

Until next time! xoxo

Leave a Reply

